United we READ, United we LIVE took place September 13th 2017!

Arts Center of the Ozarks | September 13th | Networking Reception 5:30 PM | Public Discussion 6:30 PM | Event Over 8:00 PM

This event fueled a great discussion in the company of those who find fighting poverty in our community of great importance. Many community leaders spanning from the political sphere, school boards, banking, media personnel  joined in on the evening.

The veteran urban activist and author of the revolutionary Toxic Charity returns with a headline-making book that offers proven, results-oriented ideas for transforming our system of giving.

In Toxic Charity, Robert D. Lupton revealed the truth about modern charity programs meant to help the poor and disenfranchised. While charity makes donors feel better, he argued, it often hurts those it seeks to help. At the forefront of this burgeoning yet ineffective compassion industry are American churches, which spend billions on dependency-producing programs, including food pantries. But what would charity look like if we, instead, measured it by its ability to alleviate poverty and needs?

That is the question at the heart of Charity Detox. Drawing on his many decades of experience, Lupton outlines how to structure programs that actually improve the quality of life of the poor and disenfranchised. He introduces many strategies that are revolutionizing what we do with our charity dollars, and offers numerous examples of organizations that have successfully adopted these groundbreaking new models. Only by redirecting our strategies and becoming committed to results, he argues, can charity enterprises truly become as transformative as our ideals.

Kim Aaron United Way of Northwest Arkansas
Les Acrombie Northwest Health System
Matt Allen Bentonville Public Schools
Cindy Allgood Sealed Air Corp.
Nate Bachelor CEI Engineering, Inc.
Dr. Randy Barrett Gentry Public Schools
Susan Barrett
Dr. Larry Ben Greenland Public Schools
Dr. Matin Berry Rogers Public Schools
Senator John Boozman Senator Boozman Office
Danelle Boyster Outdoor Cap Company, Inc.
Kathy Caldwell Acosta
Judy Casey Rogers Public Library
Sarah Clark Mitchell Communications
Steve Clark Fayetteville Chamber of Commerce
Ed Clifford Jones Center for Families, Inc.
Dr. John L Colbert Fayetteville Public Schools
Senator Tom Cotton Senator Cotton Office
Jeannette Cox United Way of Northwest Arkansas
Dr. Jan Davis Central United Methodist
Garrett Dolan Tyson
Mark Dutton Stephens, Inc.
Kim Eskew Harps Food Stores
Audra Farrell La-Z-Boy Arkansas
Jim Fisher
Cathy Foraker AT&T
Pablo Fuentes Cargill, Inc.
Danny Funkhouser Walmart
Helena Gadison International Intimate Inc.
Jordan Garcia United Way of Northwest Arkansas
Paul Gatling NWA Business Journal
Kaki Giauque EY
Don Gibson Legacy National Bank
Krissy Glass Kellogg Company
Jeff Gravette Decatur Public Schools
Julie Gudde Procter & Gamble
Jeriad Gumm Consumer Testing Lab
Tracy Harlow Walmart
Ashley Harris Ozarks Electric Cooperative Corporation
Heather Hays Bentonville Public Library
Holly Hill
Christina Hinds United Way of Northwest Arkansas
Belinda Hodges J. V. Manufacturing Co.
Erin Hogue Walmart Foundation
Robert Hoover Edgewell
Johnelle Hunt Hunt Enterprises
Clint Jones Huntsville  Public Schools
Dr. Debbie Jones Bentonville Public Schools
Marsha Jones Springdale Public Schools
Dan Jordan Elkins Public Schools
John Karnes West Fork Public Schools
Laura Kellams Arkansas Advocates
Tracey Kenny ConAgra Bentonville
Tim Kimball Northwest Health System
Mark Kinion City of Fayetteville, City Council
Todd Kitchen Northwest Arkansas Community College
Bryan Law Farmington Public Schools
Richard Levin Hall Estill Attorneys at Law
Joe Loyd Tyson
Mike Luttrell Walker Brothers Insurance
Larry Manry Bank of America
Wayne Mays Siloam Springs Chamber
Jake McBride iHeart Radio
Adriana McGee Kennametal
Martin Michna Coca-Cola
Irene Mirch ARVEST
Regan Moffett Winthrop Rockefeller Foundation
Greg Mones Fayetteville Public Schools
Don Morrow First Christian Bentonville
Dallas Mudd United Way of Northwest Arkansas
Dr. Kim Needy University of Arkansas
Sandy Nickerson Walton Family Foundation
Cindy O’Connor Sam’s Club
Nick Ogle HARK
Sharif Omar Northwest Health System
Dr. Richard Page Gravette  Public Schools
Jennifer Penate KNWA
Eric Pianalto Mercy
Dr. Chip Pollard John Brown Univerity
DeDe Priest
Ken Ramey Siloam Springs Public Schools
Marcia Ransom Springdale Public Library
Betsy Reithemeyer 8th & Walton
Karen Reynolds Walton Enterprises, LLC
Dr. Blake Robertson NTI
Ken Robertson Walmart
Heather Robideaux Fayetteville Public Library
Dr. Jim Rollins Springdale Public Schools
Heather Rufford Bank of Arkansas
Mike Russell Procter & Gamble
Mark Ryan ARVEST
Octavio Sanchez City of Bentonville, City Council
Octavio Sanchez Walmart
Joel Sappenfield Cobb-Vantress, Inc.
Anita Scism Endeavor Foundation
Dominique Seitz Day Springs
John Shaw Walmart
Todd Simmons Simmons Foods
Betsy Smyth ARVEST
Mary Ann Spears Lincoln Public Schools
Rita Spicer Nationwide Insurance
Chancellor Joseph Steinmetz University of Arkansas
Shane Sutton Cobb-Vantress, Inc.
Celia Swanson
Melody Timinsky United Way of Northwest Arkansas
Dick Trammel ARVEST
Kathleen Trotter Crysalis Consulting/ACO
David Vaden EY
Jim & Lynn Walton Walton Enterprises, LLC
Elisabeth Ward United Way of Northwest Arkansas
Perry  Webb Springdale Chamber
Dr. Matthew Wendt Fayetteville Public Schools
Dr. Allen Williams Prairie Grove Public Schools
Kent Williamson ARVEST
Kathy Wiltse Bekaert Corporation
Congressmen Steve Womack Congressman Womack
Jeremy Woody Legacy Bank
Kelly Zega Springdale Downtown Alliance